Haircuts and Happiness!

I got my haircut this weekend! And I love it. Absolutely love it. There’s something about getting a Haircut that rejuvenates me. Here’s the before and after:

BEFORE

BEFORE

AFTER

AFTER

What do you all think?

I think this is probably my favorite thing to do, cut my hair. I love trying new styles, being able to do new things with it, and overall, I love feeling like I have a new look. It’s something drastic that makes me feel like a new person.

There’s something about making a drastic change to one’s appearance that really gets me going. I absolutely love doing it. It’s addicting. Like, when I got my new bras (cited as my “Re-boob-olution”), and suddenly had this burst of self confidence. For me, it’s the same thing wtih hair. I like to change my hair in response to particular pressures and stages in my life. When I graduated from high school, I’d been growing out my hair for an age and a half (in response, I think, to a terribly short haircut as a child that scarred me for life). It was about down to my waist. It was frizzy, curly, and unmanageable. I wore it up in a ponytail every day.

Then, school ended. At my high school we have two weeks between when school ends and when we graduate (seniors get out two weeks early, that is). So, what’d I go off and do? In those two weeks, I cut off ALL my hair. We cut off about 11 inches, which I then donated to locks of love. My hair still brushed my shoulders, but GOSH, it was incredible. It was like a clean slate. I was able to wear my hair down for the first time in my life. I was able to just really have fun with it. Since then, I’ve been addicted to the drastic change of hair.

My sophomore year of college, I made a drastic change by getting bangs. Again, I was at the same point in my life where I needed a change. This one was more of a “gosh, am I sick of the way I look” cut, but it had the same effect. I played, I had fun with my image, and I absolutely loved my bangs.

And that brings us to this haircut. Why, after months of growing my hair long, did I cut it this time? I think I’ve talked once or twice about how I’m moving forward in my life, and making decisions about my future. Being a senior, I feel like the future is coming at my like a runaway horse, and I’m about to get trampled by it. So, to challenge that fear positively, I got a haircut. A haircut that I would consider almost “young-professionalish.” I’m really happy with the result. I think this haircut is easy to manage, easy to straighten, makes me look good, and makes me look much more like an adult than a kid. Overall, I’m really glad I did this. I feel good again, and I’m looking forward to my future with a fresh start!

Anyone else have some incredible haircut stories?

9 thoughts on “Haircuts and Happiness!

  1. I’m with you on the “addicted to change” thing. Notice that my hair has gotten progressively shorter over the past year. :)

    I’m really hesitant about crossing the line of getting my first tattoo. Because I know I’m just gonna want more and more.

  2. Love it! You know, I’ve had the same long wavy hair for years. I’m afraid of cutting it too short, and I’m so salon-shy — I’d rather cut my own hair. But your ‘do gives me hope that a shorter cut might look good on me… ;)

  3. I’m the same way. I alternate changing the cut with changing the colour. I haven’t done either in several months because I want long natural hair for my upcoming wedding, and it is driving me crazy. I suspect two weeks after the wedding I’ll end up hacking it off and dyeing it bright red or something :P

    I also tend to change my hair with life changes. When I entered juniour high I got a perm. When I entered high school I got it cut from my waist to just past my shoulders. When I graduated high school, I got a pixie cut. When I broke up with my first serious boyfriend, I went bright blonde. (Not the best look for me in retrospect, but I really needed a change to complement my new life as a single girl!)

    Oh, and I love your new haircut, it looks great on you.

  4. Chrissy, it looks FAN-EFFING-TASTIC!!!! I liked your hair before, but this is just…. WOW!

    And GODS YES! Seemingly “little” things like getting a haircut can make a HUGE change in how you feel about yourself. Or, on the other hand, it can be a way for a person to express an inner change outwardly (like what Becky said about going bright blonde after becoming single again).

    I know when I got my shoulder-length hair cut into an A-line bob back in April/May, it made a huge difference in how I felt about myself. For one thing, I realized that I CAN rock the shorter hair (I have INSANELY curly hair, in case you’ve missed any of the pics I’ve posted of myself). For another… well… I just looked GOOD, dammit!

  5. I haven’t cut my hair since I was a kid. (Well, six inches got taken off the bottom when I was fourteen to help get rid of headlice. I cried.) I’m not sure I could. I like my long hair. It is part of me, and while I do sometimes wonder what I’d look like with short hair, or wish it dried faster after washing, I know I’d miss it terribly as soon as the novelty wore off.

  6. It looks great! It took me three years to get up the courage to dye my blonde hair red. That was four years or so ago and its been red ever since (with the exception of the month in which I got married). I don’t know why I didn’t do this sooner!

  7. Firstly, let me tell you.. You look FABULOUS!!!!

    I have long hair.. long as in really long!!! it reaches till below my hips!!! And it is straight. Although it is getting a little thin what with all the bad water and climate here right now, I don’t have the guts to actually cut it off!
    It must be because I am scared whether it would grow back.. So I just keep trimming it every now and then..
    I would love to cut it short, maybe till my shoulders or so and streak some strands and have a layer cut or something.. But well, I guess I am keeping it long for now…
    :)

    http://4mgiselle.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

