Meghan McCain is my Homegirl!

Meghan and John McCain

Meghan and John McCain

Thus far I’ve used my homegirl posts to recognize celebrity women who I feel particularly fond of at a certain time. Margret Cho and Kate Winslet, the past Homegirls, are women who I have been a fan of for quite a while now. Lately, however, I’ve found myself following the story of Meghan McCain, whose anti-Ann Coulter comments posted at the Daily Beast have caused Republican radio-show host Laura Ingraham to mock McCain for being “plus-sized.”

I’m not going to get into all the details here (though you  can find them here, here and here), but I’d like to say, Meghan McCain’s response to the media blitz now focused on her weight have caused me to say “Meghan McCain is my Homegirl!” I’ll admit that I did not follow McCain before now, and that I’m not a fan of her particular politics. But she has conducted herself with such grace, poise, and beauty that I can only be in awe of her. She recognizes the importance of her position in the media, and has stepped up the plate to say “hey, it’s not okay to say that my weight means my opinion isn’t valid!” I am proud of her.

Meghan, keep doing what you’re doing. You’re an inspiration.

For more from Meghan, here she is on The View:

2 thoughts on “Meghan McCain is my Homegirl!

  1. Yeah, Meghan rocks. :) It goes to show that fat discrimination is an issue independent of all things – including politics. We’ve got fat progressives, libertarians, and republicans standing up against fat hate (specifically fat snarking). It’s good stuff.

  2. What I’m loving about Meghan McCain is just what you’re loving about her. She’s handling public criticism with grace and dignity, and she continues to try to have a serious discussion about politics even after she’s been given the traditional schoolyard taunting. I don’t have to agree with her politics to admire her character.

    Meghan, if you’re reading this, rock on with your bad self! This utterly unrepentant Berzerkleyite demi-hippie chick respects you without reservation.

Leave a Reply

