Belly Dancing

Sorry that I’ve dropped off the face of the planet yet again. This weekend brought with it a Student Leadership Retreat on my campus, the celebration of one of my best friends’ birthdays, and a series of long conversations with various people. So now, I’ll just throw some stuff out there:

1. Thanks to everyone who watched my video! I’m glad I put it up! It’s been good to get so much feedback on it!

2. BFD Blog has a great post on the People Magazine’s Top 100 Beautiful People article, go check it out here.

3. I’m going to do my last documentary project for class about BELLY DANCING! Wooo! Hopefully there will be some body image stuff to talk about there! I’m super excited!

4. If you’re in need of a little bit of relaxation, check out this video from Planet Earth. It’s uplifting in it’s beauty.

5. Let me know in a comment what you’re reading/what’s new with you all! I haven’t had much time to browse lately, so…

2 thoughts on “Belly Dancing

  1. I just finished reading this really awesome book about polyamory called “The Ethical Slut” by Dossie Easton and Catherine Liszt. My friend Elsa lent it to me for the summer. >.>

    Anyway, I reviewed it on my Facebook “Visual Bookshelf” app. Here’s what I said:

    This book was fantastic! Even if you have no intention of pursuing anything but a monogamous relationship, you should still read this book. It had some of the best relationship advice I’ve ever read – mainly because it treats all members of a relationships as living, breathing, thinking, and feeling human beings who can participate in a conversation and come to a mutually respectful and satisfactory agreement.

    The chapter on jealousy is wonderful. Even if you read nothing else, you should read that. It can help you address discomfort with your partner(s)’s activities, work, and hobbies, as well as interpersonal jealousy. A lot of the coping strategies can also be applied to other emotions. For someone like me, who has never had much experience with jealousy, it helped me identify an area in my life where I’ve been feeling that without being aware, so now I can take steps to address that and improve my relationship.

    I’ll repeat, for emphasis: this book is well-written, a quick and easy read, clear, concise, thoughtfully organized, and incredibly useful. I recommend it for ANYONE who has ever interacted with another human being. That means you. ^_^

Leave a Reply

