First JigglyTroll

Most of my readers know that my blog is extremely young. Just got it up and running in March. So imagine my perverted glee in getting my first anti-fat comment. Finally someone to shout at. “Tara” posted a comment reading:

wow, you spend a few months away from American food and portion sizes and you accidentally loose 20 pounds, I think you broke your magic set point. Fat people are ugly because they are a bloated mockery of the human form. Just keep telling yourself you are fat due to magical set point and not due to lifestyle you’ll go far in like like that.

I particularly like the line I bolded. It really cracks me up. I think it shall make an appearance in my next poem, it’s that good.

I’m actually really really interested in where this came from. I mean, I did say that I accidentally lost 20 pounds in Ecuador, but I don’t think I have EVER spoken about set points, nor do I think I’ve ever excused my fat as a “set point” issue. I had actually written in my first draft of that post a little explanation of how I think I lost that weight. Short version: lifestyle change. To expand: high altitude (Quito is around 10,000 feet) + more walking + eating my biggest meal in the middle of the day + perpetually fresh veggies and fruits = accidental weight loss. It was complete accident because I ate TONS of bread, drank TONS of pop, and even indulged in cookies and chips on a much more regular basis than I do at home. It still eludes me as to how I lost so much, but I really don’t care enough anymore.

So, I’d like to say to Tara, stop hating. You’re playing a silly game. You came all the way here, read my entire post, just to say “Ahhh, teh fatties are ugly.” And obviously, you don’t get the point of our community. We’re here to support each other. We want to come together and throw off the societal chains you hold us under, (and trust me, someday we WILL change your mind). Maybe one day you’ll have the guts to do something like that, but for now, let me wag my plus-sized gut around as a flag for my revolution. Your insults don’t hurt, and I won’t give you the satisfaction of a post all about you in the future, because you aren’t that special. Just know my stand: your pettiness is noted and rejected. Please continue living your life as a minion of society, but I won’t let you drag me down with you.

I got the grace and the body to carry the weight of your insults and throw them where they belong, in the garbage. You obviously have too thin a frame to handle them, and so you dump in the wrong places. Take your loathing elsewhere. I’m too happy to care.

Everyone else, please feel free to continue posting. And, if you so choose, feel free to tear into our troll friend. It’s fresh meat for your tigers. (Someone has to jump on her typos and grammar, pleeeeease.) Just please, as Kate Harding suggests, be good natured and delightful. Wittiness and sass are always appreciated with me.

21 thoughts on “First JigglyTroll

  1. The altitude thing is fascinating to me. I never hear it accounted for when people talk about “fat states” versus “thin states,” but I would think it would have to have a significant effect on metabolism.

  2. Hi, I just think that people give reasons like these if they are fat, and do have a chance to loose weight, Its the effort that ones put along with determination that one can want to loose weight, and does reduce weight apart from from just reasoning out, and complaining while they dont. I lost a lot of weight, and I feel so lite each day and feel like I care for my body that has been such a gift from each day my mother has seeded me in her womb. Lose weight and feel great abt urself, theres mothing wrong abt feeling great and looking great to enjoy life…. : )

  3. Hemanth, I lost weight every time I dieted. I also obsessed about every mouthful I ate; developed disordered thinking around food; (previously a value-neutral activity, now fraught with guilt and shame), and channelled valuable energy I could have spent on way more creative pursuits on comparing my body with the ever-shrinking physical ideal and loathing it. I had body dysmorphia. I lost the ability to eat intuitively forever and predicated my entire self-worth on whether I weighed a pound more or less than I did yesterday on the scale first thing in the morning. (Yes, that little machine could dictate my mood for an entire day! Imagine the relief when I threw it away forever). Unsurprisingly most of the time I was a bitch. Like you. I also put all the weight I ever lost back on again, with interest, between diets. Unless you are prepared to diet for the duration of your life, there’s a 95% chance you will too.

    I no longer diet because I’m not interested in living such a dull, crazy-making, enervating, ultimately pointless life. Instead I channelled the energy I previously spent shaming myself into loving myself as I am. And if you don’t think that takes hard work, determination, dedication and willpower in a world full of sermonising, sanctimonious twerps like you, just try it. Until then put a fucking sock in it and go bore people on a dieting site where I’m sure everyone will find your tail of temporary triumph over adversity totally inspiring.

  4. Buffpuff, back of of Hemanth. Considering his/her mother seems to have seeded him/her in her own womb, I’m sure this biological miracle will have no trouble beating the odds and keeping off the weight.

    As a mom, I’d rather my daughters enjoy the gift of life by, you know, living it, rather than obsessing about the body shape they’ve inherited… but different strokes for different folks, I guess.

  5. Chrissy, you hit the nail on the head there. LIFESTYLE CHANGE. The same thing happened to me when I moved from the U.S. to the UK 5 years ago (5 years ago tomorrow, to be exact).

    I originally come from the suburbs of Chicago. As 99.9999% of Americans know, if you live in the suburbs, you HAVE to have a car. If you don’t, you’re screwed. You can’t work, you can’t shop, you can’t even go to the doctor. So you drive everywhere, because absolutely NOTHING is within walking distance. I moved to a country where there’s ALWAYS something within walking distance. Maybe not exactly what you’re looking for, but if you need a bottle of milk or some bread, you don’t have to make a huge shopping trip out of it; you can just walk to the nearest corner shop and get what you need.

    Within the first few months, I’d lost roughly the same amount that you did. Because I walked EVERYWHERE. I walked 4 miles a day just getting my daughter to and from school. We lived close enough to the town centre that I didn’t even bother taking a bus; I just walked. Did I change my eating habits? Not really. I was eating different kinds of food, yeah, because I’m living in a totally different country. But my general eating habits didn’t change.

    I’m right with you all on the stance against dieting, too. The last diet I was on didn’t just make me crazy… it was making my family crazy too. It all ended the moment my husband took my scale and literally smashed it to smithereens. He couldn’t stand the control that little piece of machinery had over me. That tiny thing had the power to make me have a good day or a bad day. It would lift me up or sink me into a deep depression. I wasn’t living; I was simply existing, waiting on the scale to tell me what kind of person I was allowed to be.

    Fuck that. I’ve got a home and a family and dammit, they deserve my attention so much more than a small piece of metal.

    You know the problem with trolls? Instead of taking stock of their own lives and dealing with the root of their own self-loathing, they turn it outwards and viciously attack (verbally, of course) other people. They don’t like themselves, so they put other people down to make themselves feel better.

    It’s pathetic, really.

  6. *cracks knuckles* Want someone to take a crack at the spelling errors, eh? I’m so there.

    “wow, you spend a few months away from American food and portion sizes and you accidentally loose 20 pounds, I think you broke your magic set point. Fat people are ugly because they are a bloated mockery of the human form. Just keep telling yourself you are fat due to magical set point and not due to lifestyle you’ll go far in like like that.”

    First sentence: “loose” instead of “lose” – I thought we all learned that one in elementary school?

    First sentence: the comma after “20 pounds” should be a hyphen or even a whole new sentence, instead. A comma is not the appropriate punctuation.

    Third sentence: you should probably have another word before “magical set point,” like “a” or “the.” Even “your” would have been better than nothing.

    Third sentence: “you’ll go far in like like that” – This should have been another sentence or separated by a hyphen, and the first “like” should have been “life.”

    Cmon, folks. ^_^

  7. I have to admit that the phrase you bolded (and might use in a poem in the future) does have a more poetic ring to it than any other vile trollish filth I’ve ever come across. But that small credit aside (and quite frankly, given the rest of the spelling and grammar there I am tempted to say “Be sure to compliment the author of that phrase” to lovely Tara); fat is a mockery of the human form??

    So the natural design of the human body… is in itself… unnatural?? *boggles*

    We’re not asking you to find a fat person attactive. We’re not asking that you LIKE our fat. Hell, we’re really just asking you to try and accept your OWN bodies and stop foistering your self-loathing unto us. Stop spitting your vitriol (I love using that word since I discovered its meaning) in our direction.

    You didn’t HAVE to stop by a fat acceptance blog. You didn’t HAVE to read the posts contained within. Lastly, when the contents of those posts challenged your in-grained set of beliefs, you didn’t HAVE to lash out verbally in a last-ditch attempt to make someone else feel bad about themselves so you could get a momentary mental high and forget all about that brief instance of belief-shaking you experienced.

    *wanders off to a corner to continue self-delusions. “I fat due to Magic Set Point”* *giggles*

  8. My first grade teacher taught us a formula to always remember the difference between “loose” and “lose”.

    “Lose has lost an ‘o’, and now his pants are too loose.”

  9. So long as Fatties blame the fat on genetics and magical setpoints there will never be fat acceptance. You yourself have shown that lifestyle is far and away the greatest cause of body shape and size. If you truly want there ever to be fat acceptance fat people will have to stop claming that food has nothing to do with fat. They will have to stop saying that Intuitive eating means to eat what ever your body tells you to and if you want to eat a box of twinkies that because thats what you crave then it will “nourish” your body. these statements make the fat community look like a joke. you might not have said them but they are a good idea of FA as a whole. If you truely believe the weightless was “accidental” had no real cause you are beyond help as well, though you seel to have accepted that it was due to the lifestyle change that ao many in FA would call a diet and condemn you and remind you that because you lost 20 pounds you will surely gain 30 back since diets are the true cause of wight gain.

  10. Mewoser, isn’t it interesting? I plan on doing some research to figure out if it’s a real thing that people have studied, but in my experience, I think it made my body burn things faster since it takes more work to do things, like breathe. : )

    Oh, and Tara, I don’t think I understood a word you said. I read through the comment more than once, and your lack of commas, etc. is so hard to get past that I can’t get your point. But I never said that lifestyle change meant diet. Especially since, as a pointed out, I didn’t change my diet at all. I eat fresh veggies and fruits here, too. So I don’t know what you are talking about.

  11. Hahaha, oh tara.

    “So long as Fatties blame the fat on genetics and magical setpoints there will never be fat acceptance.”

    See, that’s the thing. Fatties don’t feel the need to find something to “blame” for the fat, because they don’t see it as a PROBLEM.

    “You yourself have shown that lifestyle is far and away the greatest cause of body shape and size.”

    I don’t think that is true at all. She said she didn’t change her eating habits. She did say that she did more walking and is currently intrigued by the idea of altitude having an effect. However, there is nothing in that to indicate that her lifestyle had a GREATER effect than other factors. It had an effect, yes. Was it the greatest? It’s impossible to say here – not enough data. Perhaps she fluctuates +/- 20 pounds easily around her… “magic set point.” ^_^ I can gain or lose 10 pounds easily enough. I am ALWAYS in the range 120-130, averaging 125. 10 pounds sounds like a lot, but it’s just my random fluctuation about the weight I’ve been since my freshman year of high school.

    “They will have to stop saying that Intuitive eating means to eat what ever your body tells you to and if you want to eat a box of twinkies that because thats what you crave then it will “nourish” your body.”

    Nobody says that. I wanted to find the post from Shapely Prose, but I think it was in a comments thread, so I’ll just recap. When you first start intuitive eating, you haven’t really learned to listen to your body yet, and your body sometimes sends confusing messages. If you feel the need to eat a whole bag of candy, do it. When you’re done, you’ll feel really sick/shitty. And then you won’t do it again. Your body stops asking for things that make you sick. It’s a very basic psychology concept, actually, that I learned in my junior year of high school. It’s called “food aversion.” Some of the strongest training experiences we can have are food-related ones. I used to love peanut butter. One time, I was ill while my mother was making a peanut butter sandwich. It has taken me until now (probably about 8 years later) to be able to stomach peanut butter. So if you make yourself ill off candy (or Twinkies, as you suggest), you don’t do it again. Next time, your body asks for something else. Maybe tomatoes! (Mmm…now I’m hungry.) Go do some more reading about intuitive eating before you knock it down.

    “If you truely believe the weightless was “accidental” had no real cause you are beyond help as well, though you seel to have accepted that it was due to the lifestyle change that ao many in FA would call a diet and condemn you and remind you that because you lost 20 pounds you will surely gain 30 back since diets are the true cause of wight gain.”

    Okay, despite this being the worst run-on sentence I’ve seen in a long time and also being chock full of nearly-impenetrable spelling errors, I still want to address it.

    The weight loss WAS accidental. If she didn’t lose weight ON PURPOSE, then that, by definition, is an ACCIDENT. Check out a dictionary sometime. Chrissy was not dieting while in Ecuador. Therefore she lost weight by accident.

    And if you think anyone in the FA movement would criticize her for what she did, you don’t know Fatties. Like I just said, she wasn’t “dieting.” She made no effort to change her behavior, there was no change in her actual food consumption. This completely fails to meet the definition of “dieting.” I am 100% certain that any Fatties would congratulate Chrissy on her personal journey and her decision to be happy with her body. In fact, many of them have already done just that, here on this blog, in the comments.

    Why does it bother you so much that Chrissy is happy with her body?

  12. Well, Tara, you might think that fat people are a “bloated mockery of the human form,” but your remarks show that you are a withered mockery of the human soul, and that is a much, much uglier (and sadder) thing than a little fat could ever be. Stop being so afraid and let go of some of that anger.

  13. Ok, this is hilarious, as I deleted a Tara comment that was hung up in moderation a couple of weeks ago.

    It was weird, because it kinda began complimentary and then, I shit you not, ended with the SAME DAMN LINE YOU BOLDED.

    So on top of not knowing how to properly spell or punctuate, she recycles ideas. Sexy.

    And Hemanth, darling? I feel great every day, because I take care of myself. I don’t restrict anything, I eat well, I exercise, and I’m still fat. I don’t give excuses for being who I am because I don’t have any, and I don’t complain because I love me. I am who I am, and that’s that.

  14. I must be tired (or overworked… TGIF!): I read “bloated monkey” instead of “mockery”. Donkey Kong ftw?

  15. Heh, I got a visit from that troll too: “you shouldn’t think about food so much id doesn’t help and reinforces the notion that Fat people are unattractive because they are a bloated mockery of the human form.”

    I guess that we’re dealing with a broken record! Maybe there’s a Great Book of Trolling that feeds lines that can be copy-pasted into blogs?

    And btw, this was in response to ONE entry in my blog where I was discussing my meals plan for the day (heh, it was early morning and I hadn’t had breakfast yet).

    Ah, isn’t it fun to see that Penny Arcade’s Greater Internet Fuckwad theory strikes again (see http://www.penny-arcade.com/comic/2004/03/19/)…

  16. Pingback: High Altitude For Sale « All My Jiggly Bits

  17. Pingback: Burying the Trolls « All My Jiggly Bits

Leave a Reply

