Thanks

Thank you, mainstream media advertisements. For failing to do anything but perpetuate stereotypes, that is.

I just saw a commercial for Kellogg’s new “Special K20 Protein Water”. I tried to find a video of it, but YouTube didn’t have it, yet.

Anyway, I’ll try to describe it. This lady stumbles under an awning to get out of the rain. When she looks up there’s a waterfall of shiny, pretty candies falling in front of her eyes – the awning belongs to a candy shop. She looks longingly at the candies (generic hard candies in multicolored transparent wrappers). There’s some voiceover-y stuff, and then she reaches into her purse and pulls out the Protein Water and sips it. The water has, according to the announcer, 5 grams of protein and some other stuff, to help sate your appetite without resorting to candy so you can “take the edge off your hunger while still losing weight” – protein is one of the ingredients in food that helps make you feel full. The lady walks away from the candy store with a happy smile and the sun breaks through the rain clouds.

Bleh. Okay. I dunno about you, but when I’m out for snack food, I’m so totally into potato chips, not candy. Sometimes ramen. ^_^ I can’t remember the last time I really craved candy. So, wev, there.

We’ve got the happy-joy stereotype of fatties chowing down on candy/sugar/naughty food. Stuff those faces! The idea that this lady, who is, of course, pretty and slim, will suddenly balloon up if she has a couple pieces of candy is absurd. I’m not even sure I’m being analytical enough about this because it’s so annoying. I think what bothers me most is how subtle it felt. There’s a commercial for “Lipozene” where they say, straight up, “Body fat is unattractive.” At least they’re not hiding what they think, you know? But this “Special Water” commercial feels so insidious. They couldn’t even admit to their viewers that the woman in the commercial only needs to “maintain.” No, she needs to feel full while still losing weight. Because you can never be skinny enough.

Also, she’s a woman. Only women need to eat Kellogg’s health food, need to worry about losing weight, only women need to lose weight, because remember, your value is directly correlated with how well you get gussied up for teh menz.

Put all your time and effort into controlling your naughty body, your naughty appetite. Put all your effort into making yourself acceptable to men and to the media. Oh, and don’t forget, once you meet your goal, we’ll give you a new carrot to chase. You’ll never be done. You’ll never be beautiful enough, thin enough, sexy-but-pure enough. Devote all your time to placating the voices, so that you can’t get any real work done. We can’t have you changing the world for the better, nope!

Fuckers.

9 thoughts on “Thanks

  1. WOW! You got all that from a commercial about water?

    Bottom line, this is a commercial. They are trying to make money. The fact is, more women are concerned about losing weight than men. If I worked in advertising, I would take that into consideration.

    Which came first, the chicken or the egg? Did companies create these stereotypes? They most certainly perpetuate them, but I think that if you believe that they created them, you are only seeing what your negative mind thinks is true. In other words, if you want to get upset over everything that reminds you that you are fat, then you will. If you choose to ignore it, and live your life in a positive frame of mind, you will be a happier person.

    Somebody is bitter about something.

  2. Isn’t perpetuating stereotypes enough?

    I find the whole “hungry? buy some of our conveniently filling water!” message vaguely insulting. I drink water. I eat food. It works out well for me. The milk in my fridge has 8 grams of protien per serving. Why does the world need fortified water at all?

  3. Hahaha! Thank you for the laugh, McBloggenstein!

    If you hadn’t noticed, I’m a self-proclaimed FA ally. I’m 5′ 9″ at 125lbs. The most fat-hating person in the world can’t call me anything but skinny as hell. So no, not bitter. Not in a personal way, at any rate. Angry on behalf of others, sure as hell. ^_^

    And I never said the commercials create the stereotypes. In fact, if you read the SECOND GODDAMN SENTENCE, I say, “For failing to do anything but perpetuate stereotypes, that is.” Key word: perpetuate. I’m not going to give them a free pass for it.

    Thanks to Robotitron and Conveniently Left Blank for your comments and defense. ^_^ Much love.

  4. Assuming all pro-FAers are jealous fatties is SUCH a tired line. I wish the anti-FAers would think up a new one. Yanno. To spice things up a little. Keep things interesting. 🙂

    I’ve found the Kellogg’s “Skipping breakfast to lose weight?” (pan to already model-thin woman) &etc BS commercials to be highly disturbing. I agree, I like it better when commercials out and out vilify fat. But to not-so-subtly imply thin women should get still-thinner? I’d like any anti-FAer fat-hater out there try to justify that one in terms of that woman’s “health.”

    Srsly.

  5. I’m glad that this stuff wasn’t around when I was starving myself. I would have totaly bought that crap instead of eating lettuce and apples.

  6. “Somebody is bitter about something.”

    Yeah, being treated like crap on a daily basis because you happen to be fat will make a person all sunshine and rainbows on a daily basis! Yeah, we’ll just simply ignore the stereotypes being perpetuated by advertisers to make a quick buck!

    Bitter people change society for the better, because they believe in standing up for dignity and respect of all human beings.

  7. Eat this, buy that, avoid those, drink a shake, buy some pills. It’s all the same. If you live a sedentary lifestyle (a.k.a. couch potato) and you eat unbalanced meals then you’re simply not going to lose the fat. I have a desk job. I sit at the desk for 8hrs a day. Then I would go home and sit some more. Even if I went out there would be no real exertion of body, no significant movement.

    I weighed 280 lbs. ONE DAY I decided to lose some weight, just so I would not have to buy all new clothes. I ate 3 balanced meals per day (no snacks and no food after 6:00pm) and I exercised DAILY (1 1/2hrs per day 7 days a week). In 4 months I lost 120 lbs. Do you think I should get on one of those commercials? Before and after! My energy level increased. I moved faster. My clothes fit. My personality remains the same. My self esteem has not changed, I’m still just as satisfied with who I am when I was 120 lbs. bigger.

    I did not buy shakes, I did not buy protein water, I did not buy pills and I did not buy and read any fancy diet book written by some guy with a PhD cashing in on naive fatties for his retirement. Chuck Norris and Suzanne Somers did not convince me to buy the latest weight loss gadget.

    Weight loss in my experience is 25% moderation when eating, 25% exercise (daily) and 25% PURE DETERMINATION. You have to want it badly enough. It may seem torturous and frustrating, but it’s worth it. There is no race or competition. You’re already fat so take your time and lose the weight. Most of all do it for yourself if you really want to, not for ANYONE else

  8. Wait, what’s the other 25%? Obsession with obtaining a socially acceptable body? Fulfilling the Fantasy of Being Thin? Thinking weight loss and healthy living go hand in hand (i.e., fat people who are sedentary or not aren’t healthy but thin people who are sedentary or not are)?

    I don’t get it. What does your “It’s as Simple as That!” Diet Honeymoon narcissistic rant have anything to do with the post? Did you bother to read the whole post? This is the last paragraph, in case you haven’t seen it yet:

    “Put all your time and effort into controlling your naughty body, your naughty appetite. Put all your effort into making yourself acceptable to men and to the media. Oh, and don’t forget, once you meet your goal, we’ll give you a new carrot to chase. You’ll never be done. You’ll never be beautiful enough, thin enough, sexy-but-pure enough. Devote all your time to placating the voices, so that you can’t get any real work done. We can’t have you changing the world for the better, nope!”

    See? It’s not just about the protein water. It’s about what the protein water symbolizes. Wait, is that the other 25%? I’m all confuzzled.

Leave a Reply

