The Internet Knows I’m Fat

You know what I hate? The fact that the world wide web knows that I’m fat. I mean, it doesn’t bother me when I’m the one who tells it that, but when I feel like the internet is keeping tabs on me, it’s really annoying. For instance, just now when I was looking around on the intrawebs I went to two sites one right after the other, my email at hotmail, and dictionary.com. On my hotmail, there was a nice little ad for Lane Bryant. I thought, hey, great. Nice to see ya, Lane Bryant.

Five seconds later I click over to dictonary.com, and there is this:

Dictionary.com Knows I\'m Fat

Ummm….It scares me that Dictionary.com knows I’m a fattie. it’s not like I regularly search for fat words. I mean, on my email, I at least get fat-related emails (that’s where all comments, etc. from here get emailed), so maybe I’d expect it, but still, ewwwww.

My friend E. and I had rejoiced at the beginning of our academic quarter when we saw all the Lane Bryant ads all over the place online. We had just had our “reboobolution” as I call it, where we had gotten new bras that lifted our moral as well as the ladies. We were feeling good, and loving LB. E. and I had jumped up and down when we saw the ads hit facebook. Then, a few weeks ago, E. turned to me and said that our mutual friend G. hadn’t seen any Lane Bryant ads when she went on facebook. She did get the “Ewww…Gross” one that Jamie posted about a while ago . But she never got our Lane Bryant ads. And I had never seen the “Ewww…Gross” ad, either, until Jamie posted about it. We realized, pretty quickly, that the internet knows we’re fat. And it’s deeply disturbing.

I’ve done a little research into targeted ad campaigns on the internet, and have found some interesting stuff on CNET about it (see this article, for instance). But it freaks me out still. And it sort of make me mad. I mean, I guess it’s nice to see a friendly fattie on a Lane Bryant ad instead of some dieting scheme BS, but how deep into my private life should the internet get?

Next thing I know, it’ll be talking my order for food and having it delivered before I even pick up the phone to call. The internet is getting too smart. And scary. Ay dios mio. No mas.

11 thoughts on “The Internet Knows I’m Fat

  1. I use AdBlocker and NoScript plug-ins for Firefox. I don’t see the ads, and Google Analytics doesn’t know what I do online. 🙂

  2. I’m getting really sick and tired of being followed around with all the wedding diet ads. I swear at least half of all wedding ads are about slimming down to fit into that dress.

    I bloody bought the dress with my measurements and can already fit into it, thank you.

  3. I’m with Kimu. But at work we use explorer and no ad blocker. And I’ve been realizing that I get Fashion Bug, Lane Bryant, and Battlestar Galactica ads almost exclusively. Me? I just think it’s funny.

  4. It is freaky when the internet knows you’re fat, but it’s even worse when the internet knows you’re fat and therefore decides you must want to go on a diet. I get nothing but diet ads. And as blablover pointed out, the worst is when the internet knows you’re fat and getting married becuase then you get all the “lose weight to fit in your dress!” ads.

  5. Yeah, the Internet knows I’m fat, but they have no idea how fat I am. Their Lane Bryant ads are lost on me as I’m a size 32…they only go up to 28 and I haven’t been able to shop at their stores in decades. Take that!!!!

  6. weightlessone- do you have awesome clothes? If so, where do you buy them? I’m a 32 and can’t buy at Lane Bryant or even Walmart anymore! Fashion Bug has a few things, but the empire waisted stuff that is everywhere now doesn’t work for me.

  7. Delete some of those tracking cookies? Maybe the internet has concluded that the sheer amount of cookies residing on your system can only mean one thing: cookies=calories=fat.

  8. I also have ad blocker in Firefox. Add-Art. It replaces ads with pieces of art. I look at something beautiful, instead of looking at ads that want me to be “beautiful”.
    That NoScript plug sounds nice and I shall download it. Thank you, Kimu!

Leave a Reply

