WTF Thursday: WTF is Twitter?

Now, all of a sudden in my life, I’m finding Twitter popping up EVERYWHERE. News articles, blogs, friend’s websites, newspapers, tv shows, etc. And I have a question for everyone out there: WTF is Twitter?


Pretty much all I know about it is that there’s some sort of language to typing/referencing others, and basically, you’re answering the question “What are you doing?” (Because that is what the homepage of Twitter tells me.)

From what I actually understand of Twitter’s wikipedia page, you regularly update on what you’re doing, and people become your “followers.” Now this sounds like an interesting prospect for blogs/bloggers, but seems to be an increasingly creepy thing for individuals. I don’t think I want to be hoarded by “followers,” nor would I like to creepy-stalk someone else by becoming their follower. But the concept of “micro-blogging” intrigues me. It seems like it might be marginally useful, and at the same time be an interesting social experiment.

So, anyone want to fill me in on WTF is Twitter?